Level 4 BTEC Diploma


The Level 4 BTEC Diploma is a qualification designed to meet the learning needs of ophthalmic associates. It includes mandatory Healthcare Science units and units specific for Ophthalmic and Vision Science.

The BTEC Diploma is equivalent to the first year of a university degree and you will gain credits that are recognised by universities and colleges if you wish to take your studies to a higher level.


The typical duration of the BTEC Level 4 Healthcare Science Diploma is 104 weeks (2 years) and you can start anytime throughout the year.

What’s Included:

Level 4 Healthcare Science qualification – AHPO have designed the BTEC Diploma offer to be specific for ophthalmic practice.

The Level 4 BTEC Healthcare Science Diploma is accredited by Edexcel.

There are 21 Units (125 Credits) to be completed on the BTEC Diploma.

All learners will receive: an experienced and knowledgeable assessor, an iPad to support learning, comprehensive eBooks, an ePortfolio and much more.

How will learning take place:

Learning will take place through various activities and may include the following (non-exclusive) activities:

  • Guided Study
  • Individual and group teaching
  • Coaching
  • e-learning
  • Assessment and feedback

How learners are assessed:

On application for the BTEC Diploma, you will be allocated an assessor.

To achieve the qualification you must provide sufficient evidence to demonstrate that you have the knowledge and skills to work to agreed national standards. You will need to collect a variety of evidence within your ePortfolio.

Your assessor may use any of the following for sources of evidence:

  • Assignments
  • Presentations
  • Workplace observation
  • Questioning
  • Work products
  • Professional discussions
  • Recognition of prior learning
  • Witness statements
  • Reflective accounts


When all outcomes have been achieved, your e-portfolio will be passed onto the internal quality assurer for final verification.

On successful completion you will have gained a nationally accredited qualification.

How do I enrol?

To apply for the Level 4 healthcare Science BTEC Diploma please fill in the contact form or email contact@ahpo.net.