AHPO Level 5 Diploma in Ophthalmic and Vision Science


The Level 5 Diploma in Ophthalmic and Vision Science (OVS) is a qualification designed to meet the learning needs of ophthalmic associates who have completed the BTEC Level 4 Diploma in Healthcare Science / Ophthalmic and Vision Science and wish to extend their knowledge and skills, but the curriculum can be modified for students who have not already completed the BTEC Level 4 Diploma.

The Level 5 Diploma in Ophthalmic and Vision Science (OVS) is a qualification of 120 credits and is equivalent to a Foundation Degree.


The average completion time of the AHPO level 5 Diploma is 18-24 months and you can start the course at anytime throughout the year.

What’s Included:

AHPO have designed the Level 5 Diploma offer to be specific to the practice of ophthalmology

There are 120 Credits to be completed on the Level 5 Diploma.

All learners will receive; an experienced and knowledgeable assessor, a tablet (on loan) to support learning, comprehensive eBooks, an ePortfolio and much more.

please note: the AHPO level 5 Diploma is not externally accredited.

How will learning take place:

Learning will take place through various activities and may include the following (non-exclusive) activities:

  • e-Learning
  • Guided study
  • Assessment and feedback

Mode of Delivery: Blended Learning

How learners are assessed:

Upon application of the Level 5 Diploma, you will be allocated an assessor.

Achievement of the qualification is based around the provision of sufficient evidence to show that the job can be done to national standards. You will need to collect a variety of evidence within your e-portfolio.

Your assessor may use any of the following for sources of evidence:

  • Assingments
  • Observation
  • Questioning
  • Work products
  • Professional discussion
  • Recognition of prior learning
  • Witness statements
  • Reflective accounts
  • MCQ examinations


When all outcomes have been achieved, your  e-portfolio will be reviewed by the internal quality assurer.

On successful completion you will receive certification.

How do I enrol?

To enrol for the AHPO Level 5 Diploma please fill in the contact form or email contact@ahpo.net to request an application pack.

You must be working within and ophthalmic environment.